Q&A with Rosette Ale of Revival

Emily SY
All Eyes
Published in
4 min readOct 16, 2020

All Eyes interviews Rosette Ale, founder and designer of sustainable fashion brand; Revival. Rosette gives us an insight into what it's like running a small business built on sustainability.

Rosette wearing Revival London’s Denim Flare Sleeve Top

Revival was formed from what you had learned in your final year of university, why did you decide to advance this interest into a fashion brand?

I really wanted to start a fashion brand but learning more about the textile waste in the industry I decided I needed to do it in a way that solves the problem. It was kind of an extra push for me and I thought I might as well give it a shot and try to make a change in the industry I love.

We love your blog, and how it has a massive focus on sustainability. How do you juggle blogging, designing and everything else that goes on behind the scenes at Revival?

Yes, I’m really passionate about the Revival blog as I really want the brand to not just be a place to sell redesigned pieces, but also an educational hub where people can learn how to embrace a more conscious lifestyle.

In terms of juggling everything, I’m obsessive about organisation - I’m really good at organising my time and making sure I get things done. I also sometimes have contributors for the blog so that helps break up the workload.

I’m definitely at the point where I’m getting overwhelmed with it all so I’m in the process of raising financial capital to fund outsourced production and branding so I can focus more on designing.

Photo c/o Revival

So, your current collection is made of thrifted denim. What do you love about denim, and are there any other fabrics you’d like to work with in the future?

I’ve always loved denim for some reason! I used to go to loads of vintage markets when I was younger and I’d buy loads of vintage jeans and get Levi’s for like £1. I think I just love how it goes with everything and growing up there were so many styles I used to wear from bleached to ripped to super high waisted Topshop Joni jeans.

I think it’s such a universal fabric that everyone can relate to so I decided to focus on that for now so I could be more consistent with the pieces I make. I’d definitely love to work with more textiles like jersey, chiffon etc as long as I can get the waste fabric in bulk to make enough pieces!

The One Shoulder Crop Top — Photos c/o Revival

What’s a favourite piece you’ve ever made?

My favourite piece is the white one-shoulder crop top because the design came out of nowhere and I fell in love with it! I also really love the denim puffa jacket I made in my first official capsule collection which is super cosy.

Do you have a muse; someone who has always inspired you maybe?

Yes, Solange Knowles is my forever muse! I love her whole aesthetic, vibe and creativity. She is such a powerful, bold woman with great style and embodies what I envision a Revival muse to be.

Garments from Revival London’s thrifted denim collection — Photos c/o Revival

What is Revival’s mission? What message do you want to spread?

I want to empower women through fashion and inspire more people to shop more consciously without compromising on style.

“I want Revival to be a household name for sustainable AND stylish, bold pieces which last long and are treasured for many years.”

Could you describe your brand in three key words?

Contemporary, unique, empowering.

Pieces from the “COZY” Collection released in January — Photo c/o Revival

What can we expect from you and Revival in the future?

More conceptual and contemporary pieces to come, up-cycling workshops with Culture Trip and more exciting sustainably focused content on our blog; here.

__

You can follow Revival London over on Instagram, or click here to check out their website!

All Eyes helps fashion brands and retailers stay on trend by spotlighting consumer demand from the streets.

Find out more here or email us on hello@searchstyle.com

We’re social: Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest | YouTube

--

--