Signderiva, the new forgery-proof document authentication network

An interview with Michael Vergoz, co-founder of Signderiva

Jacky Casas
Alliance Data
3 min readSep 4, 2020

--

Portrait of Michael Vergoz

Michael Vergoz

When Michael was young, he wanted to be a hacker, so he studied development, networks and systems. He quickly stood out in the hacker community by getting noticed at DEF CON, the famous hacking championship. Since 2013, he is interested in embedded systems and cryptography. With his sharpened computer skills, he was brought to do projects for military security in France, then moved to Switzerland in 2015, first in a security laboratory at EPFL and finally at PULSE.digital, where he still works as a CTO.

A big idea named Signderiva

As an expert in cryptography, Michael knows a lot about how to authenticate people and systems on the web, he also knows the flaws in those systems and is working to solve the problem. Everyone has a smartphone, but there is no way to store a valid ID on it. To this extend, “Signderiva” provides a system for creating and managing forgery-proof electronic evidence based on a blockchain network. While it is not by reading its purpose that people understand the benefits of such a system, more explanations are available in the last episode of Airccelerate podcast.

Use case: applying for an apartment

Without Signderiva

Let’s say I visit an apartment that I like and I want to submit my application to the real estate agency. I would be asked for an original extract from the prosecution office as well as for a copy of my last 3 pay slips. Currently, I have to scan my identity card, go to the prosecution office to ask for my extract, which costs a few Swiss francs (if I apply for several apartments, I would need several original copies though) and download my salary slips from my company’s intranet, eventually sending all requested papers to the agency and waiting for the answer. Not complicated, but still binding (in time and money).

With Signderiva

Let’s now admit that we are in a world where Signderiva is running. To submit my file, I would simply open the Signderiva app on my Smartphone. It already contains a ticket (or Tykle in Signderiva jargon) equivalent to my ID, which I have kept on my phone since the last time I needed it. For the extract from the prosecution office, just ask for it directly in the app. The prosecution office, which is an authority on the Signderiva network, sends me the document, authenticated and forgery-proofed. It turns out that my company also uses the Signderiva’s network to transmit all types of documents to its employees, including monthly salary statements using this system. Having now all requested documents available in the form of Tykles (electronic proofs), I can transmit them to the real estate agency directly from my smartphone.

In order to generate a ticket, you have to be a network certified authority. A concert hall could use the system to generate forgery-proof tickets. The state could use the system to issue official documents. And many more.

Next Step: Peer Review

The value of such a system lies in the fact that the technology and the algorithms used really do what they say they do, in this case a network to generate forgery-proof electronic evidence. The system must be robust, reliable and innovative. In order to convince future customers, the first step is therefore technological validation by renowned cryptography experts. In this perspective, Signderiva will make available its white paper soon.

Schema of the architecture of the Signderiva network

Are you interested in the project? Do you want to know more? Michael Vergoz will be one of the speakers at the “Our data in the face of uncertainty” day organized by LaData on September 9th in Lausanne! Information on Meetup.com.

--

--