Social Media Battle: Conventional Platforms vs. All.me

Alice Ananian
all.me
Published in
4 min readNov 28, 2018

The countdown for 2019 is on! By next year, projections estimate the number of social media users to be over 2.77 billion and I’m one of ‘em! With one of the largest markets since the internet itself, it’s no wonder that different platforms continue to sprout up. If you’re like me, you have several social media accounts. So the argument can be made that they’re not mutually exclusive. But how do they compare? And what is the difference?

Depending on which social media platforms you look at, it can be like comparing apples and oranges. While networking is at the core of them all, many have different content focuses and additional aims that set them apart from the rest. Here are my main gotos:

Facebook

It’s not exactly novel to be on Facebook, but I joined around 2008. I skipped the MySpace bandwagon my classmates were on and was curious about social media. Today, it’s definitely become a source of news, events happening nearby, and all around easy to keep in touch with people since most of them already have a profile on the platform.

From time to time I deactivate my account to take a break from the buzz, but I keep my Messenger up and running.

Instagram

Instagram is an image network focused on visual content. In 2013, the network expanded from allowing only photos to including 15-second videos as well. In the midst of all this, many influencers have emerged who now make a sizable profit every time they post because of what they promote or whom they promote it too. If you’re like me, you’re not there yet! The good news is that I think I found a way to monetize my content. (I’ll come back to that later.)

Personally, I think Instagram is a simple enough platform to figure out how to use, but learning how to increase your following is a whole other science. For the moment, it’s where I store my pics of cute animals and homemade baked goods.

liddellinspiration

LinkedIn

LinkedIn has become an online CV for professionals. One of those important online documents you have to have that comes in handy when applying for a job. Actually, here an employer may even find you first! So for employment purposes and in case you’re thinking of continuing your education, it’s a useful platform to maintain a presence on.

Youtube

Youtube is by all means a video network and anyone who calls themselves a social media influencer can hardly get away without having a channel here. That probably has something to do with the fact that Youtube can be accessed directly via Google search. Oh, and as always, you have to have quality content. If not, your lack of views or negative comments will certainly let you know.

My confession is I’ve yet to upload a video myself. I tend to use Youtube for compiling my own music playlists, cooking recipes, and watching a few talk shows or interviews that are uploaded to the channels of official news outlets.

All.me

Now, this is the fun part. I’m a bit of a slow loris when it comes to social media, but once I joined all.me it nudged me right along. I was surprised how quickly I gained an audience once I started sharing my content, sharing and liking other user’s posts. There’s also a section that curates trending posts. Some of my content even made it on the Hotlist and I got a little congrats from the network which was nice. Like most social media outlets, it comes standard with messaging and search system, but that’s not what blew me away.

Once I discovered the Promo Account feature, I was ecstatic! This option allows me to earn a portion of the revenue gained from advertisements displayed by advertisers to my subscribers. I get to watch my balance grow as I upload photos and videos! How cool is that?! Even though I won’t be quitting my job any time soon, this is a nice side-hustle! Can’t wait to use my earnings to shop on the network’s online shop. I hear it’s coming soon, so there’s plenty to look forward to! All.me may just give Insta a run for their money!

--

--