The List of Black Women in VC

Sydney Thomas
All Raise
Published in
1 min readJul 22, 2017

When I first arrived into the venture community, my first instinct was to find my people. As an outsider in this new, foreign space, it was important that I build a sub-community within venture in which I felt safe.

So, I started building the Women of Color in VC network with Siri Srinivas. Since our first dinner last November, I have had the privilege of getting to know so many amazing women.

However, in this post, I want to highlight the black women in venture. We are here and the numbers are growing.

It is important that we recognize, listen to and encourage these women as we look towards building an inclusive venture ecosystem.

I’m hoping this list can be particularly helpful for:

Startups building boards

VCs adding new GPs or Venture Partners

Conference Organizers developing rosters of panelists and keynote speakers

I look forward to seeing these amazing women represented more in the venture capital community and growing this list exponentially in the years to come.

Did I miss someone? Please let me know! You can reach me here: sydney@precursorvc.com

--

--