Photograph is by Hermione Wilds Writes – Writer and editor

Do you even care?

Poem

Dis
Published in
2 min readJul 6, 2024

--

The smile I gave
felt obnoxious to my soul,
I loathed myself,
not because I don’t care.
I cared so much that I hated myself
to love you some more
I cut a piece of my flesh
and served it to you,
and painted my soul black
for you to see the light.
I lost my sanity for
your rationality,
I drowned the truth
for your lie to survive,
I cared so much that I
burned every ounce of my
being and smiled through
the pain while it cursed my soul
I poisoned the flowers that served nectar to any bee but you,
murdered every feeling that was not for you,
I cared so much
that I set my house on fire
to light up your hearth,
I broke and moulded
my bones for your throne,
I cared so much
that I made whips of my lashes
for you to hit me,
I buried my corpse
for your garden to bloom,
let flies eat my skin and the
maggots my flesh, so the
grass from my guts makes you breathe in some fresh air.
I plucked all my feathers
for the wings that you fly on,
I cut up my wrists so that
your strings could hold me,
I’m your marionette baby
Don’t save me, play me,
and I’ll be your monster
now flay me and slay me
I put up a cross, and a
crown of thorns,
drove nails in my hands
and crucified myself to
forgive your past and atone for your sins.

Photo by author

--

--