#AllstonMadness Play-In Games

Zach Jones
Allston Spillage
Published in
2 min readMar 13, 2017
One of our two neighbor match ups for the day.

It’s here! Allston Spillage’s version of the first four will being playing today (and polls will be open for 48 hours.)

Let’s Take a Look At The Match Ups:

QUALIFIER 1: O Yummy vs. Thai Place

It’s a battle of Brighton Ave neighbors, and to be honest this one could really go either way. While O Yummy is a reliable source for American Chinese food, Thai Place may be a more popular thanks to it’s search engine optimized name.

QUALIFIER 2: Bibim vs. Hanmaru

We made this match up a play-in because they were the Korean spots that our team had the least experience with, but both are solid restaurants and we won’t feel stupid if one of them makes a good run in this tournament.

QUALIFIER 3: Shabu Zen vs. Mala

I’m abstaining from this match up because I’m an inept human being who can’t do hot pot correctly. I have no problem in my own kitchen, but when I get presented with my pot and ingredients, I inevitably overcook my meat, undercook my vegetables, somehow accidentally turn off my burner, and make a total mess of myself. So yeah, both of these places are probably cool date spots, but if I ever took a date to one of these places she would leave halfway through and block my number.

QUALIFIER 4: Inbound Pizza vs. La Mamma

If this match up becomes pizza vs. pizza, then I think Inbound is going to take the win because their pizza is pretty good. But despite appearing the pizza portion of the bracket, La Mamma is something of a wild card, because their best offering is Latin American foods, I’m just not sure how many people are aware of this. Cheap empanadas will get you far in this world, but let’s see if it can distract from pizza.

Good Luck Everyone! Happy voting!

--

--