New Dating App Matches You With People You’ve Already Swiped On In Other Apps

Zach Jones
Allston Spillage
Published in
3 min readMar 7, 2017

Running out of Tinder likes? Fear not! Because there’s a new dating app that is set to change the game. It’s called recylcr and it matches you up with all the people you viewed, swiped, or chatted with on other apps. Having completed a successful beta in several cities last month, it was fully launched last week, giving a chance to those who believe romance is out there, especially those who believe they really blew their chance on their first attempt.

“Dating apps are integral to the social lives of many young people, and we felt like we had something to bring to the marketplace,” said Don Andrews, CEO of Recyclr Inc., the Cambridge-based start up responsible for the app. “So many people currently have a secondary dating app on their phone, so to us the message was clear: people want a chance to re-swipe on the people they’ve already seen on the very unlikely but still possible chance that the person on the other side has changed their mind.”

In just the first week, thousands of people have joined excited for a chance to meet that special someone, who apparently didn’t think they were all that special three months ago when they had a chance to message back but never did, but don’t bring that up. One of the best parts is that unlike the free version of Tinder, there is no point at which you are forced to wait 12 hours for matches, just swipe freely at an uninterrupted stream of people who look vaguely familiar because you’ve previously seen the five pictures of themself that they like. And since you’ve spent countless hours over the past few years pathetically swiping away, it’s nearly impossible that you’ll ever run out of recyclr users to swipe on!

At the Kendall Square launch party on Saturday, many people had a chance to use the app for the first time, and the response was enthusiastic.

“I’ve downloaded a lot of dating apps over the years. I’ve done Bumble, Hinge, something about a Coffee Bagel. I’ve played the whole scene.” Said Alex, a 22 year old living in Allston. “What’s great about these apps is that all the users are obviously also on Tinder, so even though they decided they hated me the first time around, maybe I seem more attractive in a smaller user base. I think recyclr is where I’m going to find love, because second impressions are the most powerful, right?”

Others, like Kayla, a 25 year old from Jamaica Plain, saw the app as opening options for self expression: “I constantly cringe about how much I hate the person I was as little as 6 months ago, and curse the ways in which I sabotage my own chances of romantic satisfaction. But with recyclr, now I get a chance to prove that I’ve changed since that time we matched but awkwardly never said anything to each other. I’m a new better person who’s going to love herself and you’re gonna have to give me another chance! And if you don’t I’ll probably hate myself again 6 months from now, because clearly I did something wrong on my side to create this dark misery. I’m sorry what was the question again?”

Will recyclr end up being a hit? Unless people start realizing the inevitability of their loneliness and stop looking to technology as the savior of their personal future, there’s no telling how far this app can go!

--

--