Dushta Chatushtaya

Dr. L. Uma Devi
AllThingsPhilosophical
1 min readDec 26, 2016

“He that is jealous is always unhappy and suffereth the pangs of death.”

— Dhritarashtra

Wars are ALWAYS told from the eyes of the victor. The other perspective is never spoken much!

I am a Sanskrit and Kannada professor with over 30 years of educational experience. I hold a doctorate in “A critical study of Sankaracharya’s Geethabhashya”. I am now trying to deconstruct the epic “Mahabharata” from the eyes of Duryodhana and his posse.

Dushta Chatushtaya is the title given by others to the quartet, Duryodhana, Dushashana, Karna and Shakuni for their seemingly “wicked” ways. I am trying to understand if they were wicked like everyone believed or the circumstances led them to it! Had the circumstances been different would they have been called “benevolent” perhaps?

I will be posting on this and other literary topics here. Please join me along on this ride….

--

--

Dr. L. Uma Devi
AllThingsPhilosophical

30+ years of experience in the field of education as a Sanskrit and Kannada professor. Hold a doctorate in Sanskrit. Right now, interested in telling stories!