Female Filmmaker By Day, Foodie Always: And You?

We, as people, have many layers. Meaning, we all have these different parts that, when arranged, make us who we are. Think of how many times a coworker, or someone you see at the gym every week, or even a teacher… think of how many times these people surprised you with an interest of theirs you never would’ve expected. Humans are just full of surprises! We are multifaceted creatures often afraid to share the different parts of ourselves with the world because, well, uncovering your layers means opening yourself up and… that’s a *slightly* terrifying thing. It’s like that scene in ‘Shrek’ where Shrek tells Donkey that there’s more to ogres than meets the eye:

Don’t judge me for this reference. It’s a great movie, okay?

Now back to it…

Point is, I myself struggle with being able to uncover my onion layers. I figure, people know me as an actress/filmmaker. We can just leave it at that ’cause, I don’t think anyone gives a crap about what I’m doing outside of that… especially on like, an average Monday night. Here’s the kicker, though: people do care! I mean, I know I do! I love seeing the humanity behind the faces of my favorite celebrities, Instagram accounts, and even just my personal acquaintances whom I don’t know enough about.

So in an effort to start this chain of onion peeling, I’ll share with you a semi-known passion of mine: food. I love to bake and I love to cook. However, I also love to eat…

…no, like, I really love to eat. The thing is, I’ve noticed I appreciate food on a level different than my friends and family do. Maybe it’s because I actually love making it too, so I admire when others do it incredibly well — but the people closest to me have pointed my table manners out… to my total amusement. I mean, I used an onion as an analogy in writing this so, go figure?

According to my mom, anytime I try a dish she makes (she’s a literal chef, by the way), I won’t leave her alone until I can guess all the spices she’s added to make the flavoring so. damn. GOOD. When I grab a bite with a friend, I try to convince them to order “family style” with me so we can try each other’s dishes which, in turn, means getting to try more off the menu. According to my boyfriend, I giggle when I take a bite of food that I’m excited about. According to… literally everyone in my life, my sweet tooth is out of hand. I also have notes on my phone with lists of food spots I want to try… as well as lists of my personal favorites. And I refuse to eat at a place that’s mediocre, because, there’s simply no time for mediocre food in this lifetime!

Ever since restaurants have opened back up, I’ve been out and exploring all over again (i.e. my average Monday night):

Now, yes — I sound like a snob. But I understand the limitations that many people face, because food is a luxury. I actually grew up almost never eating at restaurants, having home-cooked meals and learning my way around a kitchen as a form of family bonding. The beautiful thing about food is that it can be enjoyed in its most complex shape, as well as in its simplest. My favorite dishes to date can be made with a simple few ingredients and lots of love…

…which is what it all boils down to anyways: love. We all have passions, things we love, things that make us feel fulfilled. We have layers! Just like onions… and Shrek. (;

~Bela

Izabela Vidovic | Filmmaker

Almost Normal Productions

Website Newsletter

--

--

Almost Normal Productions
‘Almost’ Normal, Always Badass

We make films for women to channel their inner badass. The lady trio: Elizabeta, Izabela, and Kathryn