My Coworker’s Daughter

“I wish I had a boss like you.”

Olivia Morellan
Sex & Champagne

--

By javi_indy — www.freepik.com

I was a director in a tech-type corporate job.

I had a team of 6 managers working for me, with about 5 employees each. We usually hired a few interns over the summer to do the shitty work no one wanted to do, but we mostly used it as a way to screen for potential new employees.

Because of that, we took it seriously since the goal was eventually to hire one or more of the interns. We usually got quite a few applicants, so when one manager under me, Jim, mentioned his daughter was looking for an internship.

I was hesitant to waste a spot on someone further away from graduating than we typically took (we preferred grad-level students, Jim’s daughter Ali was in between her freshman and sophomore years of undergrad, she was 19 at the time).

I figured why not at least give her the interview experience, Jim had been working a lot of hours and I wanted to keep him happy. I didn’t interview any candidates, but to my surprise, Ali was pretty clearly in the top tier that the interview team recommended.

I was extremely hesitant but they advocated for her so hard I decided to give her a shot. There was always the added bonus of keeping my best employee happy too, so why not.

--

--

Olivia Morellan
Sex & Champagne

👩🏻‍💻 Blogger + Entrepreneur + Online Course Creator | 🌎 Digital Nomad | 🏝 2 years | ✈️ 39 countries | 📍Tallinn, Estonia 🇪🇪 | oliviamorellan[at]gmail.com