Comparison to a Distorted Image of Others

Kelly Hwang
Alone Time
Published in
2 min readOct 11, 2020
Kwisun Yoo’s “I Want to Be a Good Person Only to You”

Kwisun Yoo’s “I Want to Be a Good Person Only to You”

Preface

Today was a tough day, but 99 humble comforts that will be on our side to live tomorrow again! There are always going to be days when you just want to hide somewhere and cannot deal with your shabbiness. These days are going to ache as if was the first time every time. The author listens to such thoughts and cheers you on as if they were by your side. You can see warm messages that seem to display care without being too discreet.

The Quote

(When the spell of “everything is going to work out” doesn’t help)

“You know those days. The days when you feel like you are behind when everyone else is moving forward. The days when telling yourself everything will be fine don’t work. / However, everyone goes through nights like this. It’s just that we aren’t aware of other people’s nights. So stop comparing yourself to a distorted version of others that isn’t even true and use that time to focus on yourself because comparing yourself to others is pointless.”

My Analysis

Every time I am going through one of the difficult days, I tend to compare myself to others. However, I would compare myself to the image that others project to the world instead of realizing that they have their difficult days that I am not aware of. Having pride and confidence in myself is important because comparing myself and lowering my own status is just a waste of time. This quote spoke to me because I never registered in my mind that other people might not be expressing themselves to the public even when I wouldn’t display my bad days to the public.

--

--