Keeping Boundaries

Kelly Hwang
Alone Time
Published in
2 min readOct 12, 2020
Psychiatrist SoYoung Lee’s “How to Untie a Knot in Your Mind”

Psychiatrist SoYoung Lee’s “How to Untie a Knot in Your Mind”

Preface

The author who is also a psychiatrist is proposing a psychological prescription to those with wounds on their minds. She analyzes the reasons for the “knots” that origin from love, relationships, and things in the world that don’t go their way and helps them find clues to untie their minds. This book tells you in detail on how to heal the heart and untie the knots that have been created in our minds.

The Quote

(When you can only hear what you want to hear and can only see what you want to see)

“People from our country (South Korea) especially tend to have a difficult time keeping their boundaries between family members and close friends. Most times, people would pour out advice out of emotions in an overly interfering manner and further provoke or confuse the person in need even though the advice came from sincere concern. However, we have all been in such situations and we know for a fact that even though some things or situations are painful and too heavy to handle, having the ability to handle it all alone is the reality of life. You cannot forget that even if there is someone that you want to rely on, the only person that can choose the correct path for you is you.”

My Analysis

Just from observing how my parents deal with my relatives, I can tell that they are on the softer side when it comes to conflicts among the family members. My parents always taught me that it’s alright to give a little more than you receive because people do not realize the amount of anything they receive as much as the amount they give out. Anything can vary from minimal gifts to emotional support and many more. Thus, they tend to be on thin ice when it comes to boundaries. My mother handed me this book saying that it’ll be beneficial in the end. I will always keep in mind the lesson that my parents taught me, but this book reaffirmed that I must be prioritized at all costs and there are no exceptions that’ll allow harming myself to heal others. Even when I feel as if I found the ideal person to rely on, the only person that distinguishes exactly what is right for me is myself.

--

--