More about Alone Time

Kelly Hwang
Alone Time
Published in
2 min readOct 12, 2020
“I’m Going to Get Coffee” by Kelly Hwang

Above is an artwork that I have created by assembling photographs of the world around me on top of one another whenever I go out for some “alone time”. The phrase of “I’m going to get coffee” was added because it was a phrase I would let others know so that they do not worry about me when I am gone for a bit.

Whenever I have time alone, I would walk or drive to a nearby bookstore and discover a book to read. It was one of the unusual times where it was just me and my thoughts. However, during my high school years, I refused to believe that I needed alone time because I just loved being surrounded by others and having fun. So, I would fill up my entire week with spending time with friends and sometimes family. I would never have a gap just for myself. Before sleeping every night, I would feel incomplete and disoriented about why I wasn’t content with the lifestyle that I had.

As I entered my university and started my first semester, I realized that everything is different now. My friends and I would have colliding schedules forcing us to spend the majority of our time on campus alone. Even though having these alone time wasn’t voluntary, I was able to grow as a person and an intellectual due to it. I spent my alone time learning about myself and reading the books that I always thought about reading but never had the opportunity to do so.

Mainly, I was intrigued by the “essay-styled” books that I purchased from South Korea. Thanks to being born and raised in Korea for almost half of my life, I can read and understand Korean fluently. These books are beautifully illustrated and organized in a manner that keeps the readers engaged. Reading these books abetted me to cope when I was struggling and constructed a mindset that let me accel in the way I treat newly gained pieces of knowledge.

Work Cited

Eulnyang. I’ll Say ‘Just’ Because There Are Too Many Reasons. Studio:Odr, 2020.

Lee, SoYoung. How to Untie a Knot in Your Mind. Wisdom House, 2012.

Snail, Dancing. Moderately Close. Hummingbird, 2020.

Yoo, Kwisun. I Want to Be a Good Person Only to You. Studio:Odr, 2019.

--

--