Being a mom is not work. It’s life.

Emily Brennan
alongside
Published in
2 min readMay 10, 2017

Being a mom is by far the most rewarding experience of my life. Some say it’s the toughest job. I tend to disagree, for me at least. Yes, the early days with my newborn son were challenging. I was extremely tired and sore, and just not myself. I had my bouts of mommy blues and felt extremely guilty for not being overjoyed with the arrival of my beautiful son.

It honestly was an emotional roller-coaster at first… but trust me it gets so much better.

Being a mom rewards me with the experiences of a world of firsts for my son. I get to see his little personality develop. His first smile, his first tooth, his hate for tummy time, and his fear of letting go of the coffee table to take his first step. I get to sing “Puff the Magic Dragon” (his current favourite song) with him on the way to daycare every morning. I get to see him interact with his friends, test his limits at the trampoline park, and have little conversations with him.

When my son was born, my father said to me, “now you know how much your mother and I love you”. That stuck with me. Love is powerful, love for your child is insurmountable.

Mother’s Day is a day to appreciate and thank moms for all that we do (thanks mom ❤). We do a lot, but not because we have to, because we get to. This “get to” mentality also comes from my father. He’s a pretty smart cookie. We get to take our kids to swimming, we get to wake up at all hours of the night, we get to console our children when they fall, and we get to care for our kids when they are sick.

To me, being a mom is about doing a job that you love, that you are passionate about. It’s not work. It’s life.

So, cheers to all the mom’s out there. This Sunday your day, it is a day for you to reflect on all that you have. The up’s and downs, the first moments, the “get to” do’s, and the love that surrounds us, every single day.

--

--

Emily Brennan
alongside

Busy bee wife, mom, and Marketing Manager at Alongside.