Downtown Annecy, France ( Taken on a Sony A7 ii)

A Croissant & Swiss Chocolate

Garrett Ginell
Alps Travel
Published in
3 min readJun 5, 2017

--

Sunday morning I landed at a quiet, hyper-sensitive Heathrow London. Tired and jet-lagged, news from the previous night’s London Bridge tragedy did not take long to reach us. In the airport most kept to themselves, and I quickly became an anomaly in the crowd.

The fact I was headed to Switzerland and the French Alps had started to set in. I was smiling like a 4 year old, blatantly elated. At the gate, I met a Swiss gentleman also flying to Geneva, and despite being dressed like a banker I pegged him as a mountaineer. He spoke like a debonair, articulating in multiple languages with ease. When I asked about trains from Geneva to Annecy, he praised the Annecy area and said:

“Bien sûr, its Switzerland”.

Meaning “Of Course its Switzerland”. Then on the flight I found a map showing just how extensive trains are through out the alps. From inside the iced over airplane window I searched for trains and mountain peaks, though my exhaustion set in rather quickly.

The Grand Train Tour of Switzerland — Swiss Magazine

If it was not for the warm croissants and small bars of chocolate that SWISS International Air Lines served on the flight, I was sure to fall asleep.

I was headed to Genéve [Geneva] in the bottom left of the map; A train would then take me south to France.

When we landed, I started to consider my situation. I had no internet, spoke little French, and was hoping my checked bag, packed for 11-weeks, made it through all four airports [ORD, IAD, LHR, GVA]. Additionally it was Sunday, so where I am many places are closed or have very limited service. This meant the next train was in 5 hours.

Subsequently, with all my bags and after a meter-pumping cab driver I arrived in Annecy and have since successfully met my host family. This my advice after an hour in a white mercedes-benz cab:

  1. Never arrive in Europe on Sunday or national holiday
  2. Buy a sim-card before you leave
  3. Never take a cab
  4. Learn more of the language then you think.

So, yes I have arrived in Annecy, France. Yes, it is as beautiful it seems. And yes, I have added the grand train tour of Switzerland to my bucket list. The header photo and one below are a couple of the first photos i’ve taken.

Lake Annecy, France

--

--