【Wheelock’s Latin】 CAPVT II SENTENTIAE ANTIQVAE

Clara Lin
ALT the World
Published in
2 min readAug 19, 2021
  1. Slavē, Ō patria!
    Hello. Oh, country!
  2. Fāma et sententia volant.
    Fame and thought fly.
  3. Dā veniam puellae, amābo tē.
    Give a favor to the girl, please.
  4. Clēmentia tua multās vītās servat.
    Your clemency saves many lives.
  5. Multam pecūniam dēportat.
    He/She carries away much money.
  6. Et fortūnam et vītam antīquae patriae saepe laudās sed recūsās.
    You often praise but refuse both ancient father lands’ fortunate and (way of) life.
  7. Mē vītare turbam iubēs.
    You order me to avoid the crowd.
  8. Mē philosophiae dō.
    I give myself to philosophy.
  9. Philosophia es tars vītae.
    Philosophy is an art of life.
  10. Sānam fōrmam vītae cōnservāte.
    Maintain a healthy/sound form of life.
  11. Immodica īra creat īnsāniam.
    Immoderate anger creates insanity.
  12. Quid cōgitās? — dēbēmus īram vītāre.
    What are you thinking? We ought to avoid anger.
  13. Nūlla avāritia sine poenā est.
    No greed is without penalty.
  14. Mē saevīs catēnīs onerat.
    He/She oppresses me with cruel chains.
  15. Rotam fortūnae nōn timent.
    They do not fear the wheel of fortune.
  16. The girts save the poet’s life.
    Puellare vītam poētae servānt.
  17. Without philosophy we often go astray and pay the penalty.
    Sine philosophia saepe errāmus et penās damus.
  18. If your land is strong, nothing terrifies the sailors and you (sg.) ought to praise your great fortunate.
    Sī patria tua volēt, nihil nautās terrēt et fortunam magnam tuum laudāre dēbes.
  19. You (pl.) often see the penalty of my anger and warn me.
    Poenam īrae meae saepe vidētis est mē monētis.
  20. The ancient gate is large.
    Porta antiqua est magna.

Catullus Bids His Girlfriend Farewell

Puella mea mē nōn amat. Valē, puella! Catullus obdūrat: poēta puellam nōn amat, puellam nōn vocat, fōrmam puellae nōn laudat, puellae rosās nōn dat, et puellae nōn bāsiat! Īra mea est magna. Obdūrō, mea puella — sed sine tē nōn valeō.

My girl does not love me. Goodbye, my girl! Catullus is tough. Poet does not love the girl, does not call the girl, does not praise the girl’s form, does not give roses to the girl! My anger is great. I am tough, my girl, but without you, I am not well.

--

--