3 Life Lessons I Learned From My Dad

My dad was a remarkable man and, in this article, I reflect on three of the lessons he left me with while I was growing up.

Andy McAleese
6 min readDec 4, 2021
my dad painting with three children at work at the day nursery
Photo of my dad at work at the day nursery

I lost my dad, Robert, to cancer almost 20 years ago. There have been many times since where I’ve wanted his advice, guidance, or support, particularly once I became a parent myself. However, I know that there are already many ideas and principles that he had left me with while I was growing up.

Three lessons that stand out for me are

  • the power of questions and imagination;
  • following your path and taking a risk; and
  • do what you love.

The Power of Questions and Imagination

When I was a kid, there was a time when I went to our local shops to buy some sweets with my newly-given pocket money.

When I returned home, my dad asked where my sweets were. I’d eaten them all on the journey back. He followed up by asking where the wrappers were, to which I replied that I had dropped them as I walked.

He looked disappointed. He didn’t get angry or tell me off but asked me what I thought the world would be like if everyone dropped their litter wherever they wanted.

--

--

Andy McAleese

I’m passionate about helping to break down mental health stigma by sharing my lived experience and sharing what I’m learning about looking after my well-being.