A Beautiful Sunny Day?

December 4, 2021

Clarisse Cornejo
Alternative Perspectives
3 min readDec 7, 2021

--

After repetitive callings from my mother in the main room next door, finally woke up. I didn’t know what day it was but the sunlight was beaming through the window straight to my face, the best way you start a day.

Until I looked at my phone and saw that it was Saturday, had an appointment with the dentist.

By then it was about 7:30 a.m. so we had to rush. My mother was all over the apartment either answering a call or telling me that we were out in five minutes but we ended up going thirty minutes later — and I had to go back home right after because I had forgotten my mask, ay…COVID-19.

I hadn’t realized till that moment how long I have been staying inside my home, or to be fair my tiny four-wall room where I spend all my time attending virtual classes in the morning, then to workshops in the early afternoon and doing LOADS of homework until night.

Anyway, the day was beautiful. Summer had begun, two months late but still worth the waiting. The sun was at its peak, palms were spreading their leaves all along the berm, the streets were clean, and the birds were singing I was submerged in this landscape.

Sadly, my mom brought me back from my reverie by chattering about work.

It was a 20-minute journey, we got to the dentist at 8:15 sharp and the dentist had not arrived yet.

I was still in my dreamy state. I knew the routine so I just let my teeth be checked up and heard an extract from the conversation my mom was holding with the assistant: One friend had gotten his fourth vaccine shot… FOURTH.

I had just gotten my second and it was a complete nightmare, with my right arm hurting and persistent fever for two days. In addition to that, it is expected that everyone will get vaccinated every six months. I am not going to go through that ever again, two shots are more than enough for me thank you so much!

Following that, we headed home but the scenery was different from the early morning.

The day had become cloudy and the streets now crowed. Transeunt mattering their businesses, children with their parents sitting on a corner selling candies, and moneychangers announcing a rise in the dollar value due to our current inflation.

In other words, just an ordinary day in Lima, Peru. For good or bad, nothing changes. We got home at 9:30 a.m. Perhaps that sunny day was only inside my mind. Maybe it had never happened. Who knows? I don’t.

--

--