Poetry: Is It Time?

‘Uncurls tail from snout / Opens one eye…’

Cee R.
Alternative Perspectives

--

Quick note:

Since I don’t imagine Medium’s audio option will cope too well with Welsh, I apologise for the mess it’s probably going to make with the pronunciation of the one or two Welsh words I’ve used in this poem.

Y Ddraig means The Dragon in Welsh (it’s also the symbol of Wales.) You can check out a relatively-good pronunciation here if that’s something you’re interested in.

Poetry graphic — poetry is in main body of post
Graphic: author’s own, made with Canva

Uncurls tail from snout
Opens one eye
A low grumble, deep in the core
Is it time?

Keeps wings furled
Contains heart’s flames.
Not yet.
Rest.
Heal.
Yearn.

Y ddraig slumbers
Lighter than before.
Light enough
To wake if called
When they are ready
Ddraig will roar

Poetry by Cee

190 stories
artsy swirling smoke
Rain dripping from a tree branch
Person standing alone on a rock in the ocean and shining a torch into the starry night sky

Get unlimited access to all stories on Medium using my referral link here; I receive commission for memberships purchased through this link

Originally published on Twitter (yes, I somehow managed to fit this in one Tweet #MicropoetryLegend,) and collected in a micropoetry wrap-up post on my blog, Dora Reads

--

--

Cee R.
Alternative Perspectives

Writer, poet, (book) blogger @ dorareads.co.uk , Queer, weird, & a tad peculiar. Bookish rebel. Welsh as a tractor on the M4. Buy me a coffee @ ko-fi.com/ceearr