Why do Americans Love Genealogy So Much?

Lizzo just took a DNA test, turns out she is 100% that b****

Andrew Gaertner
Alternative Perspectives

--

Photo by Jonathan Meyer from Pexels

Maybe you are too.

Lizzo has been on repeat recently on my streaming service. Her song “Truth Hurts” references a meme which references a tweet, which references how popular genetic ancestry tests are in the USA. I feel it. All of it. DNA tests are having a moment. So is Lizzo and her message of self-love. Maybe these two moments are related.

Recently, I read a great essay by Araci Almeida questioning why Americans are so concerned with our ancestry, and why we love asking other people about theirs. I felt seen.

Assuming her anecdotal observation holds true, what would make Americans so into our ancestry? Why? What drives our curiosity?

I can’t speak for all Americans, but I can start with myself. It might come down to me wanting to belong. When my peers were asking me “what are you?” in grade school, I wanted to have the right answer. I wanted an answer that helped me fit in. I knew that Germans and Irish in Wisconsin are not controversial, so I hoped I had a safe story. I also knew we were Welsh and maybe Native American (recent DNA test says 0.0%, so maybe not after all), both of which were safely “cool” with my peers.

--

--

Andrew Gaertner
Alternative Perspectives

To live in a world of peace and justice we must imagine it first. For this, we need artists and writers. I write to reach for the edges of what is possible.