Why I’ll Never Wear Wigs Again

Christine Mené
Alternative Perspectives
11 min readAug 1, 2021

--

The death of my wig-wearing days was December 31st, 2019, the day I chopped my hair off. All of it.

Seriously, it wasn’t a bob.
Not a pixie cut.
Not even a teeny-weeny afro.

No ma’am! I. WAS. BALD. AS. TWEETY.

The first “dolled-up” photo I posted to social media TWO WEEKS after shaving my head completely bald. :)

Look at me and my little peach fuzz! I wasn’t kidding, y’all — I was even wearing yellow like Tweety Bird!

“Wow, Christine! You’re bold as f**k, I could ne-…”

Yeah, SAVE it! I said the same thing for at least a decade.

This decision was also different from first time I did the “big chop”, a process in which Black women cut off the majority (if not all) of their relaxed, or chemically processed, hair to embark on their natural hair journey.

In 2014 I got the big chop, and I only did it because my hair was experiencing breakage from heat sensitivity and poor maintenance after years of relaxer treatments.

At the time, I transitioned by allowing my hair to reach at least 4 inches of natural, new hair growth before trimming off my chemically treated ends.

Still, I never became comfortable with showing off my natural hair or learning how to manage it. To be perfectly truthful, I got box braids within 10 hours of my big chop and more than…

--

--

Christine Mené
Alternative Perspectives

Brand Strategist | House of Gryffindor | Lover of all things related to Marvel, DC, Disney, and BTS