Manhunter (1986)

A Photo Essay on Cinematography and Colour

Mynt Marsellus
Alternative Texts

--

Manhunter was directed by Michael Mann and shot by Dante Spinotti. It was adapted from the novel Red Dragon by Thomas Harris.

“If I really didn’t need you to come back, I wouldn’t ask.”

Jack Crawford

“This started from an abused kid, a battered infant… My heart bleeds for him, as a child. Someone took a kid and manufactured a monster. At the same time, as an adult, he’s irredeemable. He butchers whole families to pursue trivial fantasies. As an adult, someone should blow the sick fuck out of his socks. Does that sound like a contradiction to you, Jack? Does this kind of thinking make you uncomfortable?”

Will Graham

“And if one does what God does enough times, one will become as God is.”

- Dr. Hannibal Lektor

Francis Dollarhyde: Do you imply that I’m queer?

Freddy Lounds: God, no.

Kevin Graham: What happened?

Will Graham: Well, Lector was attacking college girls, and he killed them.

Kevin Graham: How?

Will Graham: In bad ways.

“Have you ever seen blood in the moonlight, Will? It appears quite black.”

Dr. Hannibal Lecktor

“It’s just you and me now, sport. And I’m going to find you, God damn it.” Will Graham

You owe me awe!

Francis Dollarhyde

All credits belong to the De Laurentiis Entertainment Group, Michael Mann, and Dante Spinotti.

--

--

Mynt Marsellus
Alternative Texts

Faith minded, critically speaking, social justice in my heart and media culture on my mind.