Se7en (1995)

A Photo Essay on Tragedy and Darkness

Mynt Marsellus
Alternative Texts

--

Se7en was directed by David Fincher and shot by Darius Khondji.

“If we catch John Doe and he turns out to be the Devil — I mean, if he’s Satan himself — that might live up to our expectations. But … he’s not the Devil. He’s just a man.”

- William Somerset

“Very simple. You actually fought to get re-assigned here. I’ve just never seen it done that way before.”

William Somerset

“Gentlemen, gentlemen… I’ll never understand. All these books, a world of knowledge at your fingertips. What do you do? You play poker all night.”

William Somerset

“This guy is methodical, exacting, and worst of all, patient.”

William Somerset

“This isn’t going to have a happy ending.”

William Somerset

“He’s experienced about as much pain and suffering as anyone I’ve encountered, give or take, and he still has Hell to look forward to.”

Dr Beardsley

“Innocent? Is that supposed to be funny? An obese man, a disgusting man who could barely stand up, a man who if you saw him on the street, you’d point him out to your friends so that they could join you in mocking him, a man, who if you saw him while you were eating, you wouldn’t be able to finish your meal. After him, I picked the lawyer, and I know you both must have been secretly thanking me for that one. This is a man who dedicated his life to making money by lying with every breath that he could muster to keeping murderers and rapists on the streets! A woman, so ugly on the inside she couldn’t bear to go on living if she couldn’t be beautiful on the outside. A drug dealer, a drug-dealing pederast, actually! And let’s not forget the disease-spreading whore! Only in a world this shitty could you even try to say these were innocent people and keep a straight face.”

- John Doe

I admire you. I don’t know how you found me, but imagine my surprise. I respect you law enforcement agents more every day.

- John Doe

Wanting people to listen, you can’t just tap them on the shoulder anymore. You have to hit them with a sledgehammer, and then you’ll notice you’ve got their strict attention.

- John Doe

“What’s in the box?”

David Mills

“Become vengeance, David. Become wrath.”

John Doe

Ernest Hemingway once wrote, “The world is a fine place and worth fighting for.” I agree with the second part.”

William Somerset

--

--

Mynt Marsellus
Alternative Texts

Faith minded, critically speaking, social justice in my heart and media culture on my mind.