Interview with Travel Blogger Cristie Zyla who shares on how to go globetrotting with a full time job

Altertrips
Altertrips
Published in
8 min readMar 22, 2017

--

This travel blogger interview features fellow wanderlust and travel blogger Cristie Zyla of Out of the 306 who shares on how to travel the world while having a full-time job.

1) So tell me a bit about yourself- where are you from, what do you do for a living etc. What made you realize you are wanderlust?

Well, originally I’m from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada. Yes… I know, it’s a mouthful. It’s also a beautiful province located in central Canada full of beautiful lakes, gorgeous hiking opportunities and beautiful golden-yellow canola fields. I was born and raised in Saskatoon, but when I was 20, my education ended up taking me to Vancouver, British Columbia. I spent my time in British Columbia living in Kelowna, New Westminster and Maple Ridge before deciding to move back to the prairies 6 years later, but this time to Winnipeg, Manitoba. I now live here for the time being with my husband, our dog, Duke and our cat, Ryder.

I work as a Litigation Paralegal at MLT Aikins LLP, a large law firm with offices across Western Canada. My work primarily consists of document organization and production, preparing court documents, conducting legal research, retaining experts and assisting with trial preparation. I love my job, and the fact that I have worked so hard to get to where I am today. I also love that my job has a bit of flexibility, and still allows me to travel and have other passions in life.

I have always loved the idea of travelling. As a kid my parents dragged me all across Canada and the United States on road trips and so I was able to see a lot at a very young age. My first international trip (outside of Canada and the US) was at age 15 to Mexico. As a student I never had the time or the money for travel but I managed to get in a few trips to Mexico and the Dominican Republic while completing my studies. It wasn’t until my husband and I traveled to Europe in 2014 for our honeymoon when I realized that travel is not something I only enjoy, but is a passion in life. Since then I haven’t looked back and have made travel a regular part of my life.

2) How often do you travel in a year?

With only 3 weeks holidays a year, I definitely have to be creative with how I schedule my travel. I make the most of long weekends and try to stretch those 3 weeks out as much as possible. I would say we try to do at least 1 big trip a year, plus several smaller trips on long weekends. We also spend a lot of time driving around Canada visiting family and friends on weekends, which ends up taking us to some interesting places.

3) How do you manage to travel the world with a full-time job? What’s usually your boss’s reaction when you tell him/her that you are going on a vacation, again?

Like I said, travel is a priority in my life, and I make that no secret to everyone I meet. I’m a firm believer that you don’t have to choose between having a stable career, a family and the opportunity to travel, but that you can simply have it all. It’s all about managing your time and prioritizing what is most important to you at that very moment, even if it’s not what’s most important to those around you. “You do you, and I’ll do me” is a saying I’ve adopted lately meaning we all have different priorities in life, and all are of the same importance.

When I tell my HR manager that I’m going on holidays, she is always happy for me and never seems to have an issue. I don’t take advantage of a whole lot of unpaid vacation time, but taking a day or two here and there is never an issue, because I know my work is always done and I’m good at my job.

4) What is it that you like so much about travel?

Ah. Everything. The opportunity to explore new places, to engage in new experiences, to discover new cultures and to gaze at the most beautiful landscapes you might never have seen if you would have never left home. The truth is I find travel totally liberating. I live such a structured life at home and love my routine and I’m good at managing chaos. But when I travel, I let all of that go and just go with the flow.

5) Have you been anywhere that turned out to be totally different from what you had imagined? Tell us a bit more about it.

Hmm that’s a tough one. I think every place I go is somewhat different from what I expected, because you can never really get a good understanding for a place from reading about it in books or online. That’s another reason why I think travel is so important. Everyone deserves to form their own opinions about places, and I think that by trusting another traveler's judgment of a place, you rob yourself of those experiences and the opportunity to form your own opinions.

However, if I had to choose, I would have to say Bohol in Philippines is one place that really surprised me. When you read about the Philippines you really get the impression that it’s all about beautiful beaches and pristine, crystal-blue water, but Bohol was really so much more than that. There were so many opportunities for adventure in such a small area that I was pleasantly surprised and can’t wait to go back and explore more of the Philippines.

If you want to read more about my time on the island of Bohol, check out my post here.

6) Have you had any bad travel experience? If yes, tell us a bit more about it.

I wouldn’t say “bad experience” as I think of all experiences while travelling as more of a learning experience. On one occasion when we were visiting the beautiful city of Florence, Italy, we were forced to pay $18.00 for a gelato when the sign clearly stated that it should be $3.00. We quickly noticed that it wasn’t just us, but the people in front of us had been swindled into the same situation as well. We wanted to just leave the overpriced cone and walk out but the cashier threatened to call the Police. We had no choice but to suck it up and pay for the gelato, which wasn’t even the best gelato I had tasted in Italy, but like I said, all part of the experience.

7) Of all the places, that you have been to, which has been your favorite till date?

Easy. Pai in Northern Thailand. Hands down. Beautiful scenery, opportunities for adventure, a laid-back atmosphere and delicious street food have put this beautiful mountain town at the top of my list. Anyone who goes to Pai falls in love with it instantly and we found ourselves never wanting to leave after 3 days. What I didn’t love was the minibus ride from Chiang Mai to Pai which consist of 726 turns in 3 hours. Puke bags not included.

If you’re interested in reading more about the lovely town of Pai, check out my post here.

8) Do you aspire to be a Digital Nomad someday?

I’d be lying if I didn’t say I have thought about it. The idea of travelling the world and writing about my experiences full-time is something that has always sparked my interest. However, I love my career and my stability at home. I love to nest, do DIY projects on the weekends and spend time with my family and friends. I think there are just as many opportunities for adventure in your own backyard which can be experienced while maintaining a full-time career. Obviously, these things can change but right now I’m quite happy with where I am! Although I could always use a couple more weeks of holidays in a year…

9) What tips would you give those who would want to travel the world while working full-time?

Just do it. Stop making excuses for why you are unable to travel. We all have debt (I still have student debt), we all have families and we all have different passions in life. Just because your friends are ready for something doesn’t mean you need to always be on the exact same page as them. Do your own thing and find your own purpose in life. Find a way to balance the things that you love and you will truly be happy.

Born and raised in the prairies of Canada, Cristie grew up with an appreciation for small-city living. After moving to several different cities throughout Canada for a taste of big-city life, Cristie found herself back in the prairies, spending her days with her husband, Devan and their dog, Duke. Together they travel as much as they can while still maintaining full-time careers, balancing a family and a healthy lifestyle. Read more about her stories on her blog, Out of the 306, and follow her on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook.

--

--