My Experience with Online Music Lessons

It went differently than I imagined!

Viola Geena
Alto Clef Diaries

--

Screenshot of a Zoom call. The author is teaching a young violin student who’s face as been blurred for privacy/safety.
Screenshot of the author's Zoom lesson.

Teaching music lessons online is certainly not an ideal scenario, but necessary to keep everyone safe and prevent the spread of Covid.

Initially, I viewed it as an opportunity to teach more students than I ever could before. It can be difficult for young professionals to develop a teaching studio in my city. The parents here don’t typically put their children in music lessons or see the value in music education. I was no longer confined to the tiny pool of students here; I could teach anyone in the world with online lessons.

However, it didn’t quite go as planned. I advertised on a platform called Superprof. On one of my early Medium articles, Are Online Music Lessons Worth the Hassle?, I talked about an experience I had with a potential adult student who was skeptical of my qualifications and questioned if I truly knew what I was doing. She was also concerned about the rate I was charging and asked for a discount. Ultimately, she decided not to study with me, and I didn’t receive any more responses to my ad.

From this experience, I learned that it could be challenging to sell yourself to people who don’t know who you are at all. This person wasn’t from…

--

--

Viola Geena
Alto Clef Diaries

Canadian writer who happens to be a violist in a symphony orchestra. All opinions are my own. Twitter: @violageena