Technique Vs. Musicality

A challenging balance for musicians

Viola Geena
Alto Clef Diaries

--

Photo by Tetiana SHYSHKINA on Unsplash

Playing any musical instrument at a high level takes many years of dedicated practice and study with a teacher.

While learning the fundamentals of technique for your particular instrument is essential, people don’t want to pay to hear someone play a scale or etude. They want to hear music.

However, it’s a fine balance because your musical gestures and ideas can get lost in translation if your technique or intonation isn’t solid.

As a student, balancing my technique and musicality was a constant source of frustration. I found that playing with passion and really getting into the musical aspect of the performance came naturally to me. However, when I was swept up with emotion, other aspects of my technique, most notably intonation, took a holiday.

While the average audience member probably didn’t notice anything amiss, my performance approach was met with opposition from my professors and peers.

It was infuriating at the time because I knew I played at a comparable level to the “top students” at my school, but my technique was not up to par. Nowadays, I look back and think that it’s absolutely ridiculous to rank your peers and harshly compare yourself to others, but it’s hard to see it that way while you’re a music…

--

--

Viola Geena
Alto Clef Diaries

Canadian writer who happens to be a violist in a symphony orchestra. All opinions are my own. Twitter: @violageena