Neural Network RaspberryPi Music box

Aleksey Tikhonov
Altsoph’s blog
Published in
1 min readNov 12, 2018

After making the Pianola network project, I came to the idea of the RaspberryPi music box for the infinite neural network music generation.

Basically, I used the same VAE-like neural network approach as in our Neyro-Skryabin performance, but I had to squeeze it into a raspPi3 box and tune the model to make the near real-time NN-generation of an endless stream of midi music.

As a hardware, I took a RaspberryPi 3 Starter Kit and some Leadsound’s speaker like this. As a software, I had to setup Tensorflow for ARMv7l and used mido+pygame to play the music aloud.

Here it is in action:

If you are interested in some details on this project, you could check the following links or contact me:

--

--