stemless glasses

Alyssa Black
Outsiders Espresso
Published in
1 min readJul 2, 2018

wrapped in polyethylene
tied with purple ribbon
placed by each seat at the wedding reception
to commemorate our friends’ special day
after the party
extra glasses are left over
so I take home two at the newlyweds’ request
breaking the ribbon
tearing off the plastic wrap
I douse my glasses in warm soapy water
rinse them
and place them in the cabinet for use
months later
I drop one while placing it into the sink
the glass splits down the middle
and tiny shards explode and ricochet
I douse them down the drain
the bride calls in the evening
she’s had a fight with her husband
granting her moral support
a silent vow of protection

it’s normal to drop a glass
and it’s normal for spouses to quarrel
but just to be safe
I’ll keep the other glass at the back of the cabinet

--

--

Alyssa Black
Outsiders Espresso

teacher, student, reader, writer, Oblivion enthusiast