Words change everything.

Randalyn Hill
Ama La Vida
Published in
2 min readJan 2, 2020
quote that says: “You can change you world by changing your words… remember, death and life are in the power of the tongue.”

With the new year finally here, many of us are trying to finalize and develop our plans to conquer the year with a brave face.

One of my favorite things to do every year is picking a word of the year. Personally, I like to go big with it, put it all over daily life. It becomes the lock screen on my phone, and I get a bracelet, or a bangle, or a necklace with the word stamped or engraved.

The idea is that, with one word to focus on, not only do I grow tremendously in that specific area I also grow very strategically.

In the past my words have been:

  • Courage
  • Tenacity
  • Wonder
  • Inspire
  • Teach

Each of these words has played a part in shaping who I am and who I’m becoming. These words have become the pillars that I live my life by. They are guided by my values and help me put into practice the passions and gifts that I have. These words cast the vision for my year and help me to see it to fruition. Having a focus, a thought, or a feeling that you hone in on and develop helps you to embrace it enough to fully understand it.

For example, you learn what you love about courage and why you shy away from it. You learn who makes you feel courageous and who it’s hard to practice courage around. You learn that courage isn’t always bold, but it frequently whispers.

So as 2020 kicks off, I’m challenging you to pick a word and take note of what changes.

--

--