Lies we tell and 2020 vision

Ama La Vida
Ama La Vida
Published in
4 min readDec 10, 2019

“Where do you see yourself in 5 years?”

Ugh. I used to hate that interview question. Probably because I’m a terrible liar. Can’t do it. And I knew anything that came out of my mouth would, whether I liked it or not, be just that. A lie. I thought the interviewer needed a very specific vision, and I couldn’t give them that.

My parents got jobs and kept them their whole careers. For them, the answer to this question was probably pretty straight forward. Though life’s twists and turns undoubtedly shook up their personal plans.

The professional world is different now. People don’t stay at jobs for 40 years. Hell… for most people, the job they will hold 5 years from now doesn’t even exist yet.

This inability to have a clear line of sight to your future can be extremely anxiety-inducing. And can make for some very BS-ed interview responses. Many of our clients feel very overwhelmed when they come to us (and even at various points throughout the coaching process) because they don’t know the exact right next job for them or the job title they want 5 or 10 years down the road.

At some point we need to get you to the specificity of a job title when you’re applying, yes. But don’t over-index on that. Sasha Dichter, a blogger I love, explains that it’s stilly to start with the title. Start with you.

He says in this post, “The real problem was the half-baked notion that this process works from the outside in. Done properly, it’s the other way around.” He continues, “I know I’m in the right job if I’m thriving and learning, if I’m creating things of substance that I believe in, and if I’m working with great people. That’s the whole enchilada.”

I remember years ago saying, “I have no idea what I want to do with my life.” But that wasn’t actually true. And I’d wager it’s not true for you either. You might not know the exact details. You probably don’t know the job title or exactly what the scenery and context will be. But you know what you want life to feel like.

I knew I wanted to wake up and not be rushed into a long commute in the morning. I knew I wanted to be creating something from nothing. I knew I wanted a balance of team collaboration and individual work. I knew I wanted to be coaching and leading others. I knew I wanted to be creative and problem solve. I knew I would not be wearing a pencil skirt.

When you’re feeling lost, directionless and overwhelmed about what the future holds, slow down and turn inward. The answer isn’t filtering through life’s infinite options. The overwhelm dissipates when you start getting clear about who you are and what you want life and your career to feel like. And then let yourself be drawn to the things (and the people) that give you that feeling.

This week’s challenge

Let’s reimagine the 5-year interview question. What if instead we asked, “Five years from now, how do you want to feel? What will your day be like? What challenges will you tackle?” Take 10 minutes to journal out the answer or even just close your eyes and picture this future person and the life they are living.

Struggling to get clarity around your future? That’s why we’re here.

Book my free coaching consult

We love that you always want more. Here are some of the best resources that crossed our newsfeeds this week:

  • Embrace the unknown this week. Turns out sometimes novices really are better than experts.
  • Thinking about everything you want to accomplish next year? Start your January prep now. HabitNest provides journals to help you build the habits of your dreams. Morning Routine? Check. Gym routine? Check. Meditation Practice? Check.
  • This article shares some new ideas and features to breathe life into your LinkedIn presence.
  • Looking for your next mentor? Chief Coaching Officer, Foram, suggests looking for an emotionally intelligent mentor in this Fast Company article because “An emotionally intelligent mentor allows the mentee to lead the conversation and is perceptive to what’s being said and not being said.”

--

--

Ama La Vida
Ama La Vida
0 Followers
Writer for

We help you love your life. Through use of our proprietary eCoaching technology and our proven career transition process!