Can’t Do Therapy Right Now? Try These 5 Therapeutic Activities

Tips to get started doing therapeutically helpful things while on the waitlist.

Jean Anne Feldeisen
Enriched Couples

--

Photo by Bewakoof.com Official on Unsplash

“I almost canceled this appointment today.”

“I think I’ll be too depressed next week.

“I forgot.”

“My car broke down.”

I have been a therapist for more than 24 years and have had plenty of experience with a client’s reluctance to see me. It plays out over and over again in false starts like these.

Sometimes it starts with not showing up for your first appointment — which you were so grateful to get last week. Or it’s canceled appointments, no-shows, or confessions. It can be hard to get started with a therapist, particularly if you are already depressed or anxious. How could you get started doing things that are therapeutically helpful without seeing a therapist?

Once you get started working together things fall into a more comfortable rhythm and become easier. Most people have good results from the relationship. But first, you have to get started.

Perhaps you can’t get into therapy because you:

  • have no insurance, can’t spare the money
  • don’t have the time or patience

--

--

Jean Anne Feldeisen
Enriched Couples

I've got my fingers in way too many pots. Cook, writer, poet, reader, musician, therapist, dreamer, a transplant from New Jersey suburbs to a farm in Maine.