Ethics: Drowning Child Activity

Amanda Posthuma-Coelho
amandapc
Published in
2 min readFeb 17, 2017
http://sadredearth.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/moral-choices1-e1305654353644.jpg
  • WOKs involved:

Reason, Emotion and Imagination

  • AOKs involved:

Ethics

  • Questions
  • When answering the questions, I most used Ethics, Imagination and Emotion to formulate my responses. I imagined what it would be like to carry on with my life knowing that I could have helped the child but I purposefully chose NOT to. Guilt, shame and wrongfulness would define my life from then on. My emotions told me that that was the right thing to do and I tried to place myself in the shoes of the person who was drowning.
https://i.ytimg.com/vi/gGczdp0SE0c/maxresdefault.jpg

I also used Ethics, as I began reflecting on whether we do indeed have a moral responsibility to save the drowning child. Lastly, reason was involved in my decision during the game. I began pondering on the following questions: if not me, whom? If not now, when? In other words, if I did not act then and there, who else would? And from this, it was clear to me that we do have a moral responsibility to act when we are capable to do so.

  • Whilst answering the questions, I did not think about the AOKs and WOKs that were involved to reach a conclusion about saving the drowning child. Instead, I simply ACTED. I simply knew what was morally right or wrong, and my decision was crystal clear: to help the drowning child. I know that, when it is within our reach and we are in power to act upon a situation of peril and distress, we MUST act out. It is our responsibility as human beings to be morally decent and to help others, in the same way that we would like to be helped out if we were in that situation.

Knowledge questions:

--

--