A Louisiana Success Story

Amanda O.
Amanda’s Perception
9 min readOct 3, 2019

Arreyona Johnson, who is a Benefits Business Partner at Nissan, beats the common statistics and stereotypes of African American Louisiana residents.

The 28-year-old African American resides in Ridgeland, Miss. where she successfully lives out her career in the human resources department .

Johnson grew up in a very small town in Louisiana called Tickfaw. She was originally named Arreyona Johnson because her parents were not yet married when she was born. Four years later her name was changed to Otkins after her parents wed.

Johnson attended Hammond High School for two years where she discovered her love and talents for dancing and singing. At the end of her sophomore year, she transferred to Amite High School which is considered to be a predominantly African American school located in a very low-income area.

The school was also graded as an “F” school by the State of Louisiana meaning the school’s academic levels were very poor and were one of the lowest graded schools in the state.

Since Johnson was an African American female student from a low-income area, it was said according to https://www.americanprogress.org/issues/race/news/2012/03/13/11351/the-top-10-most-startling-facts-about-people-of-color-and-criminal-justice-in-the-united-states/, African American women are three times more likely than white women to be incarcerated and to use or sell illegal drugs. Not only that but also according to http://www.ncsl.org/research/health/teen-pregnancy-prevention.aspx ,roughly 1-in-4 girls will be pregnant at least once before age 20. She proudly beat that statistic by graduating with over a 3.0 GPA with no children, no incarceration record and no use of or selling of illegal drugs, but her battle was not won just yet.

During her senior year of high school, one of the most heartbreaking and challenging things she ever had to face occurred on the very day of her senior night.

Johnson’s mother received a phone call around 3 am on Halloween back in 2009. Johnson stated, “The phone call came from the hospital my grandmother was staying at. She had been very sick for years,”

She also expressed, “When my grandfather received a flu shot the year before, he was diagnosed with a rare disease from it called Gilyumbarae. The disease made him paralyzed from the neck down and he even went code blue. Thankfully, he made a full recovery.”

Johnson says that her grandmother was really there for him. She added, “My grandmother would have to pick him up by herself sometimes and because of that she developed a hernia between her liver and intestines.”

She also stated, “She had about 23 total surgeries because the doctors took much of her intestines out and when they went to reattach them together they put it in backwards. Because of that surgery, she was never the same again.”

Unfortunately, Johnson’s grandmother took her own life by pulling out her breathing tubes and suffocating to death. She states, “This was one of the hardest obstacles I had to face in my life. My family and I didn’t know how we were going to get through that situation,” adding, “This made me want to succeed and make her proud of me because I know she is looking down upon me.”

Shortly after her high school graduation, Johnson decided that she wanted to attend Jackson State University. She noted, “It was a choice I know my parents didn’t want me to make because of how far from home it was. I wanted to go to a great HBCU and after doing my research, I decided to go to Jackson State University.”

Johnson attended Jackson State University for about two years while supporting herself as a waitress and a bank teller. She commented, “It was not easy at all living far away from home and having to work two jobs just so I could actually go to school, eat, and have a roof over my head. I had no friends or family up there so I was pretty much all alone.”

Another tragedy struck Johnson’s life during her second year at Jackson state. Her grandfather passed away from a massive heart attack while driving a vehicle. Johnson stated, “He didn’t get into an accident or hurt himself or anyone else, but he did almost get hit by a train. Thankfully the train’s conductor spotted his vehicle and was able to stop in time.”

Johnson also added how “…her grandparents’ deaths were a hard obstacle to overcome but it also made her into the hardworking woman she is today.”

She explained how her grandparents taught and showed her so much about life and everything she could be. She also wanted to thank her grandparents for everything they’ve done because without them she wouldn’t be where she is today.

Also during Johnson’s sophomore year, she and her doctors discovered she had cysts on her ovaries and fibroids had developed in her uterus as well. She had to have several surgeries but her fibroids kept coming back.

Johnson added, “I was tired of having surgeries and because of that, my doctor told me to just get my uterus removed or to get pregnant and all of those issues would go away.” she also expressed that “[she] wasn’t going to do neither one because she knew that they weren’t apart of God’s plan for her life.”

Johnson also stated that she is much better now and hasn’t had to have another surgery since Sept. of 2017

While attending Jackson State University, Johnson had to deal with another heartbreaking situation. Her mother was diagnosed with epilepsy and had to have brain surgery. She stated, “My mother had to get about the size of a golf ball removed right behind the temporal lobe.”

Because of this difficult time for her and her family, Johnson decided to move back home and transfer to Louisiana State University. She said, “I wanted to be there for my mother and my family.”

Her mother Chevette stated, “ I didn’t want to be a burden to her. I told her to stay and finish her degree at Jackson State but of course, she wouldn’t listen. I really appreciate her for that though.”

Johnson confirms that since her mother has had her brain surgery, she has been doing just fine.

Johnson and her mother Chevette Otkins nine months after Chevette’s brain surgery.

She also replied, “I am so glad I got to experience an HBCU University and I am also glad that I chose Jackson State University because I ended up meeting the love of my life.”

Johnson met, as she states “…The most handsome dude ever.” She said that she saw him one day on campus and just thought about how handsome he was, which is when she decided to “keep [her] eyes on him,”

She later found out that his name was Jovante Johnson and once they finally were introduced to each other through mutual friends, she said: “…it was on from there.”

Arreyona and Jovante Johnson are at the Coca-Cola factory in Atlanta, Ga.

After Johnson and her boyfriend began dating, about a year later they decided to move in together. Unfortunately, she and her boyfriend had to develop a long-distance relationship when she moved back to Louisiana due to her mother becoming ill.

Mr.Johnson added, “It was hard not seeing her every day. I really missed her during those times, but we would meet on the weekends and talk every day so that helped a lot.”

On the other hand, according to to…, Ms.Johnson had to overcome another statistic and that was, having at least three children with different fathers, working at a minimum wage job, living in a low-income house or area and living off of government assistance before the age of 21.

At the age of 21, Johnson graduated from Louisiana State University with a bachelor’s degree in Public Administration. She was the first person to get a bachelor’s degree from an accredited university in her family. Shortly after her graduation, she was hired by the State of Mississippi where she would work in the department of revenue.

Johnson is at Louisiana State University posing for one of her graduation photos.

Johnson stated that she would sometimes feel uncomfortable at work because she worked with mostly caucasian men and women. She expressed that they would give her mean looks and would sometimes ask, how did she afford to get a nice car or even a Louisiana State University degree.

Johnson’s vehicle at the time

She commented “They seemed really surprised and shocked to have a successful black woman working there. You could tell they weren’t used to seeing that.”

Immediately after starting her new job, Johnson also decided to get her master’s degree from Belhaven University in human resources.

Johnson after receiving her Master’s Degree from Belhaven University.

Johnson added, “I want to show and prove to people that not all African American women that come from low-income communities are only going to be a statistic. I wanted to show everyone how we are all not illiterate and that we too can work for corporate businesses.”

After working two years for the state of Mississippi, Johnson decided to apply for a position at Nissan. She claims, “I was so nervous! I didn’t think I would get the job, but I did.”

Johnson also stated, “I really love my job. At first, I was a bit overwhelmed because of how enormous the place was but I eventually got used to it.”

She also added, “I love that I get to meet different people and take private jets to different places for training or meetings.”

Johnson is at the The Governor’s Summit with the Governor of Mississippi, Phil Bryant. This event helps to find ways to make the state of Mississippi healthier for all of its citizens.

After working for Nissan for about two years, her life would change forever. Johnson’s boyfriend proposed and 10 months later, they were married.

Mr. Johnson stated, I always knew that she would be my wife and I’m so glad that she finally is.”

Mr. and Mrs. Johnson wed on July 6 in Baton Rouge, La. at the state’s Old State Capitol. Johnson added, “ I think it’s ironic that I was already born with the last name Johnson and now, thanks to my husband, it has gotten changed back; and no his family isn’t related to mine.”

Arreyona and Jovante Johnson at the alter on their wedding day: This photo was captured by Sneakerboxx Photography.

Mrs. Johnson’s father, Michael Otkins Sr., commented by saying, “I raised her like a princess, so of course, she wanted to have a royal wedding. And that’s exactly what she got.”

Johnson is with her father Michael Otkins Sr. on her wedding day.

Johnson also added, “My wedding photos almost went viral. They were calling me the Black Cinderella all over Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.”

Arreyona Johnson is in her wedding dress that is showing off her extremely long veil: This photo was captured by Sneakerboxx Photography.

Even though there were statistics stacked against her and she dealt with many health and family situations, Johnson still found a way to keep going and to keep striving for success.

Johnson added that her family and God helped her get through all her hard moments in life. She wanted to send a message to all children that you can do anything you put your mind to and to never give up on your dreams because life is what you make of it.

The Johnson’s have confirmed that they are happily married and looking to buy their third home. They have even started their own clothing line called Turbo Dinero. Mrs.Johnson is still the Benefits Business Partner for Nissan and still loves her career there. The Johnson’s also stated that they do not have any children but hopefully they will be blessed with a child when God sees fit.

A wonderful success story for a Louisiana Native.

--

--