Bewilderment by Richard Powers…had me bewildered

Anureet Kaur
Amateur Book Reviews
3 min readDec 25, 2022

Richard Powers, a Pulitzer Prize winning writer had me intrigued by the synopsis of the novel Bewilderment; a mysterious story about a single father raising a troubled son, attempting to keep him off psychoactive drugs and trying his luck with an experimental neurofeedback treatment.

The themes of neurodivergence, parenting and climate change stood out strongest to me. However, I felt there were a million themes hidden in between the lines, making the story difficult to comprehend at times.

Neurodivergence

While reading Bewilderment I discovered the term Neurodivergence, and for the first time understood how this group of people is identified or labelled as differing from the norm. Admittedly this isn’t a term in my vocabulary, and I am glad for the education and exposure of my own ignorance.

Neurodivergence is explored through the experiences of a troubled little boy (Robin), and his worried father (Theo), who is desperate to keep him off psychoactive drugs pushed by educators. Robin is an innocent, naive little boy, and it was easy to become emotionally attached to the character. Alongside his father Theo I worried about his well being, his isolation among his peers, his uncontrollable temper and his future.. Nonetheless, I began to see Robin as the unique and special child he is; passionate, intelligent and curious about the world. It hurt me to think society misunderstood him, feared him and most of all, pitied him.

Parenting

Not only did the story help me gain empathy for those who are different, I gained empathy for single fathers raising these children. Theo is a devoted father who does his best to be mindful and cater to Robin’s unique needs, and I truly loved him for it. Not all parents can step up to the occasion in the way Theo does throughout the story. I fondly remember him buying Robin an expensive set of paints, melting my heart because he wanted to do his best to support his son’s talents. Theo reminds me that no parent is perfect, they are all just trying their best. It makes sense why Theo chose to enroll his son in an experimental neurofeedback treatment to avoid psychoactive drugs, he was just doing his best to protect him.

Climate Change

As in his previous writing, Powers writes about strong themes of climate change, and even includes political views on climate change. It is endearing to see a little boy like Robin become passionate about climate change and protecting animals. However, the author continues to paint such a grave and dark outlook on climate change, giving me a disdain for his aggressive approach.

Overall, the story lacked a definite plot, but explored many more pertinent problems with child development, medicine and society’s acceptance/reluctance of science amongst current political turmoils. Where the story lacked in plot, it made up for in eloquently written passages about life, parenting, and grief.

Bewilderment was difficult to read and understand alone. I recommend this novel to those reading in a group setting to discuss the many themes and hidden easter eggs.

It’s a challenging, but worthwhile endeavour to explore the inner workings of Theo, Robin and Richard Power’s mind.

(It is also worthwhile to check out Oprah’s Book Club interview with the author to further understand the novel.)

If you enjoyed this review please clap below and follow to help me get noticed on Medium. Very much appreciated, thank you!

--

--

Anureet Kaur
Amateur Book Reviews

Avid reader and lover of literature, writing reviews and analyses of novels I read. NOT summaries. Also follow my bookclub on IG @lil.bookclub to join in!