Book Review: Mom Brain

Laura Marie
Amateur Book Reviews
3 min readSep 13, 2022

--

Parents, drop what you’re doing and read this book

I stopped by my local library one day after dropping my newborn off with my parents and started browsing the new releases shelf. Through the blurry haze of new motherhood, I noticed this dark pink volume with scrolled writing on the title. I thought it might have been a humorous memoir, but it turned out to be so much more than that.

It was manna from heaven, although I wouldn’t successfully finish reading it until a year later. The book? “Mom Brain: Proven Strategies to Fight the Anxiety, Guilt, and Overwhelming Emotions of Motherhood―and Relax into Your New Self”, written by mom and psychologist Illyse Dobro DiMarco.

Becoming a mom (especially at age 35 in a pandemic), changes you so totally and abruptly it can be hard to recognize yourself. Like many new parents, I struggled with the worry, stress, and anxiety of bringing a new life into this world. This book has practical suggestions for coping with a myriad of mom (parent) challenges. (I should add that my counselor, who was helping me work through my own brand of postpartum OCD, echoed many of the author’s suggestions.)

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Among my favorite suggestions was the “List of Lists”, intended to help divide household responsibilities with your partner. The author also offers ways to keep your…

--

--

Laura Marie
Amateur Book Reviews

38 going on 99. Giraffe aficionado and nap enthusiast. I write about mental health, books, baking, and other randoms. Publishing monthly-ish.