Failosophy: A Handbook For When Things Go Wrong by Elizabeth Day

An honest book review ★★★☆☆

Vanshika
Amateur Book Reviews

--

Failosophy is a no-bullshit guide to Elizabeth Day’s philosophy on failure. This book talks about the biosphere of failure that a person carries around as they get progressively older. It is a fast-paced narrative that aims to shift your perspective on failure. It looks at failure, at a distance and nudges you to disconnect from the feeling of discontent. At the core, the book is all about ‘training your brain to be happier’ but it is lathered by heartfelt stories from famous people. I would’ve been really mad if the book’s fundamental message hadn’t been cushioned by these real-life stories because let’s be real, forged positivity is nothing but toxic. Hearing about Andrew Scott’s failures really stirred something in me, I was inspired. All in all, this is a good read for someone who doesn’t handle failure well (aka me and other perfectionists).

Book cover from Goodreads

It was a good 2H 30Ms. However, I do think that I will understand this book better when I’m older, just because the only kind of failures I’ve known until now have been insignificant.

The finest advice I got from Day’s book is: “We’ve to start by removing the feeling that failure has to negatively define us as people, it doesn’t.”

--

--