If being a “Bookcloak” is wrong, I don’t ever want to be right

Laura Marie
Amateur Book Reviews
5 min readApr 1, 2022

--

I’m not late to the party, I’m early to the next turning of the Wheel

Robert Jordan’s 700-plus-page “Eye of the World” (now part of a major series streaming on Amazon Prime), was published in 1990. I was five, so I think I could be forgiven for not reading it then. But I’m sure I’m not the only one for whom the new series sparked a renewed interest in “The Wheel of Time”, the book series it is based on, albeit reluctantly.

“Would you like to read the book?” my husband asked me one night as we were deep in Aes Sedai territory on our television. “Probably not,” I replied.

Naturally, I received Jordan’s massive tome for Christmas. My dear husband’s poor listening skills aside, the first of the 14 books in this epic was an enjoyable read, even for someone unaccustomed to the fantasy genre.

Photo by Laura Ockel on Unsplash

There are parts that drag a little, and the odd rough patch from a syntax standpoint. Especially as I was getting accustomed to his style of prose, I did have to read a few sentences several times to grasp the meaning. As a sometimes editor, this is a no-no for me. But it wasn’t enough to distract from the overall story and literary value. And the most recent version of the novel includes a glossary and maps, helpful for the…

--

--

Laura Marie
Amateur Book Reviews

38 going on 99. Giraffe aficionado and nap enthusiast. I write about mental health, books, baking, and other randoms. Publishing monthly-ish.