Why did you become an Amateur Radio Operator (HAM)

Geoffrey Levey
Amateur Radio Chat
Published in
1 min readOct 24, 2017

To be quite honest I became an amateur for the wrong reason. At that stage I was doing a few across border travels and wanted to have the capability of using amateur radio for communications if necessary.

A few months after getting my licence I joined an Amateur Radio Club. The club was the West Rand Amateur Radio Club. I was made welcome and for the first time I actually became aware of what Amateur radio was all about. I did a complete U-turn in my thinking about amateur radio.

There are so many different facets within amateur radio that it must make AR the most scientific hobby around. There is noway that one can become involved with all the facets of AR. The facets that I have concentrated on are, Admin, Contesting and DX’ing. 99 percent of my radio work is done on HF. I often say jokingly “Life is to short for VHF”.

--

--

Geoffrey Levey
Amateur Radio Chat

I became a Amateur Radio Operator in 2006. I enjoy chasing DX and Contesting. For more information look at my QRZ.com page. https://www.qrz.com/lookup/zs6c