Atlético Capra FC

Lincolnton, NC

Zac Hines
TriSocPod
2 min readDec 16, 2020

--

I was pleasantly surprised to find out the other month that there was a new United Premier Soccer League team in Lincolnton, NC. I was further surprised to find out that the team was based at Combine Academy, a multi-sport school and training facility. Backed by Rush Soccer, a major backer for several teams in the lower leagues, the academy is fulfilling what us over at TriSocPod have been calling on: creating a landing spot for academy players who stay local as they age out of youth soccer.

Combine Academy’s mascot is the goat and I wanted to carry that forward. From there I imagined a team that has a robust academy, so much that foreign investors take notice and decide to buy it. In this case that buyer would be Atlético Madrid and they would re-brand the team to Atlético Capra FC. Capra being Spanish for goat.

The logo itself feature the Atlético colors and traditional vertical red and white bars. A leaping goat is featured on the left side of the crest with ACFC in a serif font above it. The red dot symbolizes a location pin, marking the crest as an academy away from the first team.

Highland Drive Park

Combine Rush calls Highland Drive Park home in the UPSL and that currently looks like the best option for this team as well. Though I’m sure investors would be looking at a more long-term home for the goats.

I tried to re-create the Atlético Madrid kit as much as possible for Atlético Capra. The club would want to use the same kit with their affiliates for maximum brand effect.

Special thanks to Russell Varner for his help editing.

About me
First and foremost I am an amateur with no formal training. My hope is that this series will spark other creatives to make their own versions. Learn more about the series here. I was born and raised in Middlesex, North Carolina and have spent most of my adult life living in Raleigh. I am a fan of the beautiful game who wants to see it grow at the grassroots level.

--

--