Bull Durham FC

Durham, NC

Zac Hines
TriSocPod
3 min readMay 21, 2020

--

Durham is currently home to Tobacco Road FC, a community club that has been around for several years fielding teams in NPSL, PDL, USL2, and even local adult leagues like TASL. Feedback that I have heard on more than a few occasions is that having Tobacco in the name makes people hesitant, especially with children. While I personally don’t have an issue with the name, I went ahead and renamed the club to Bull Durham FC for this project.

The team traditionally used the black and white color pallet, but the Durham city flag is too good not to incorporate into the crest. I also wanted to bring in elements of Durham City AFC, a non-league side in the UK, further linking the two Durham teams. I knew the cross from the DCAFC logo was what I wanted to bring over early on. It made sense to me to have it as a backdrop and it served as an avenue for the red from the flag. The yellow and blue from the flag to wrap everything together, and the change to a front facing bull aligns to the shape of the logo better.

Durham Memorial Stadium

I kept the Bulls playing in Durham Memorial Stadium, as this has been Tobacco Road’s home for a while now. There has been talk of them trying to move downtown into the historic Durham Athletic Park, currently set up for baseball, but nothing has come of that yet.

Durham Athletic Park

As far as the kits go, I wanted to stay in line with the traditional black and white look that Tobacco Road uses. I added more Durham flag detail on the sleeves and brought the UK Durham’s cross over as the chest graphic. It isn’t an exact match, but I’m sure the point comes across.

Special thanks to Russell Varner for his help editing.

About me
First and foremost I am an amateur with no formal training. My hope is that this series will spark other creatives to make their own versions. Learn more about the series here. I was born and raised in Middlesex, North Carolina and have spent most of my adult life living in Raleigh. I am a fan of the beautiful game who wants to see it grow at the grassroots level.

--

--