Cary Clarets

Cary, NC

Zac Hines
TriSocPod

--

The Cary Clarets was a short-lived name change for a team that has existed since 2002. They started out as the Raleigh CASL Elite and over the years changed to Carolina Railhawks U23, Cary Clarets, back to Carolina Railhawks U23, Carolina Railhawks NPSL, and currently live on as North Carolina FC U23 in USL League 2. While the team has existed as a development team, for this project I am re-imagining them as a stand-alone team.

Before working on this crest, I had not actually seen the Clarets logo before, despite running a supporters group for the teams current iteration. At first glance, it is too busy without a clear meaning. I didn’t connect that the team was funded by Burnley FC until after doing some research.

Original Cary Clarents Logo

When I approached a re-brand for the badge, I decided to lean into the Burnely colors but drop the animals pulled from their badge. The knight helmet remains but is facing forward and dropped down to blend in with the border. A pair of roses flank the armor, a flower that goes with the wine aspect of claret.

WakeMed Soccer Park

In this project North Carolina FC has relocated to Downtown Raleigh, which leaves WakeMed Soccer Park available for a new tenant. After years of being a development team, the Clarets will finally get their due as the main attraction in a 10,000 seat stadium.

The mock-up for this kit I wanted to stay on brand with bold colors and patterns by using the half-and-half style. The yellow and sky blue is an attack on the eyes when bumped up next to each other by design. The claret color is left to the detail and highlights.

Special thanks to Russell Varner for his help editing.

About me
First and foremost I am an amateur with no formal training. My hope is that this series will spark other creatives to make their own versions. Learn more about the series here. I was born and raised in Middlesex, North Carolina and have spent most of my adult life living in Raleigh. I am a fan of the beautiful game who wants to see it grow at the grassroots level.

--

--