Crystal Coast FC

Jacksonville, NC

Zac Hines
TriSocPod
3 min readNov 15, 2020

--

This week we return to the coast, specifically the Crystal Coast. Nestled just inland from the shoreline is Jacksonville, North Carolina.

I have had a lot of fun working on the coastal teams throughout this series and Jacksonville was no different. For their club I was inspired by the city’s logo, specifically the imagery of the sun over the water. I brought the oval shape over from the city’s logo to create the container. The oval shape is also one that was used for the “OBX” bumper stickers that were really popular years ago. The sun sits center of the logo with the same lines from the original cutting through it. While I promised recently to not used orange as much going forward in this series, the orange sunset looked the best.

Jacksonville Logo
Left: Jacksonville Commons Recreation Complex; Right: JASA Soccer Fields

Once again there are two options for home venues. Local youth club Jacksonville Area Soccer Association has a set of fields they operate, but they do not have any stands, lighting, or any infrastructure around it. While soccer specific, this location would only work with improvements. The other location is the Jacksonville Commons Recreations Complex. This sprawling location sits alongside three public schools. There are several fields with lighting and an American football stadium that could be utilized.

After feeling bad about using orange again, I decided to try and utilize the teal as much as possible. In a final version of this mock-up I would copy the horizontal lines from the logo for the chest instead of having the generic ones I used here.

Special thanks to Russell Varner for his help editing.

About me
First and foremost I am an amateur with no formal training. My hope is that this series will spark other creatives to make their own versions. Learn more about the series here. I was born and raised in Middlesex, North Carolina and have spent most of my adult life living in Raleigh. I am a fan of the beautiful game who wants to see it grow at the grassroots level.

--

--