East Carolina United

Greenville, NC

Zac Hines
TriSocPod
2 min readNov 29, 2020

--

Greenville’s imagery is steeped into three main categories: East Carolina University, Pirates (namely Blackbeard), and its party scene (giving it the title G-Vegas locally). The university is a huge part of Greenville and it felt fitting to draw from their initials and color scheme over to a soccer club. East Carolina United would also call East Carolina University home, playing in Johnson Stadium. There are several fields around Greenville, but the only true soccer stadium is on campus.

I felt that drawing too closely on the pirate motif would be too on-the-nose for a brand that already draws pretty heavily from existing material. Instead I thought a compass would do much of that lifting. I broke out of my normal lettering by adding a banner at the bottom of the diamond, splitting the words into three segments. This goes against my normal style, but the banners have a certain nautical feel to them that works.

Johnson Stadium; East Carolina University

It is hard not to create a brand that leans heavily on purple and yellow and not make a purple kit. I find the color to lend itself really well to jerseys and believe it is a shame more clubs don’t have purple in their color schemes. This mockup features a purple kit with dark purple noise pattern. Yellow highlights the trim to give it an extra bit of pop.

Special thanks to Russell Varner for his help editing.

About me
First and foremost I am an amateur with no formal training. My hope is that this series will spark other creatives to make their own versions. Learn more about the series here. I was born and raised in Middlesex, North Carolina and have spent most of my adult life living in Raleigh. I am a fan of the beautiful game who wants to see it grow at the grassroots level.

--

--