Forward Shelby

Shelby, NC

Zac Hines
TriSocPod
2 min readDec 9, 2020

--

This week we’re heading to Shelby, NC! Shelby is another town that was agricultural until the railway revolution swept the state. One extra note for Shelby is that is has been hailed as premier shopping destination between Asheville and Charlotte.

I landed on Forward Shelby as the name as a representative of the rural town’s push towards the future and dedication to keeping the town relevant through the years. The arrows I added pointing forward to have the name further be on the nose. The “BY” sits nicely above the bottom arrow and creates a nice line between the “R” and the “Y” in the name. While happy with the name and the word art, I didn’t think it could stand by itself. I turned to the city’s noted architecture and landed on a retro art deco container to bring the design home.

Hanna Park

The home venue for Forward Shelby would be Hanna Park. This multi-field complex has five regulation sized fields and lighting already built in. The only thing this complex is missing is a couple of stands for fans.

The jersey this week features a dark jersey with a light pin stripe in alternating pink colors. To round out the look, I added the pink detail to the collar with a button.

Special thanks to Russell Varner for his help editing.

About me
First and foremost I am an amateur with no formal training. My hope is that this series will spark other creatives to make their own versions. Learn more about the series here. I was born and raised in Middlesex, North Carolina and have spent most of my adult life living in Raleigh. I am a fan of the beautiful game who wants to see it grow at the grassroots level.

--

--