Girasol Futbol

Wake Forest, NC

Zac Hines
TriSocPod
3 min readNov 12, 2020

--

Del Sol FC is a youth program under the North Carolina FC Youth umbrella that focuses on providing a space for the Hispanic population in the Triangle that can’t afford the price of the American pay-to-play system. In 2019, they launched a United Premier Soccer League team and had an impressive run of 7–0–1 in the Spring, qualifying for the playoffs but electing not to participate.

For their rebrand I wanted to pull from the sunflowers that are planted throughout the Triangle every summer, the ones at Dorthia Dix being the most famous. The name Del Sol I changed to Girasol, which means sunflower in Spanish. I reduced the colors down to yellow, orange, and black, but kept the circular shape from the original. Of course, I had to remove the soccer ball. The center of the logo instead features a black core, like a sunflower, with a diamond pattern surrounding it as a nod to the flower stamen.

Left: Dorthia Dix Park Sunflower Fields via visitraleigh.com; Right: Del Sol Futbol Club Logo

Girasol would return to WRAL Soccer Park as their home venue. This park features a lovely soccer specific stadium that is lighted. Unfortunately, the stadium is not often used by any of the adult clubs in the area, more often it is the home to the academy teams for North Carolina FC and North Carolina Courage.

WRAL Soccer Park Stadium

I struggled with finding a sun motif for this kit, but I think the lines coming off give off a solar flare vibe. Orange is a cooler that is popping up a lot in this series so going forward I am going to try and make an effort to use it less, especially as a main color.

Special thanks to Russell Varner for his help editing.

About me
First and foremost I am an amateur with no formal training. My hope is that this series will spark other creatives to make their own versions. Learn more about the series here. I was born and raised in Middlesex, North Carolina and have spent most of my adult life living in Raleigh. I am a fan of the beautiful game who wants to see it grow at the grassroots level.

--

--