Granite City

Mount Airy, NC

Zac Hines
TriSocPod
2 min readNov 1, 2020

--

For this design I was inspired by Mount Airy’s nickname — the Granite City, so named as the town the home of the largest open mouth granite quarry. Mount Airy itself doesn’t have a much in the way of outdoor soccer fields currently. Just outside of downtown is Veterans Memorial Park, whose Google description suggests that there are sports fields in this park, though I could not confirm. An alternate to this would have to be a local high school sports field. None are currently set up for soccer.

For the Granite City crest, I wanted to convey the physical levels of the quarry. Black is the outer ring to express that the surface level of the quarry has been mined, and each level brightens as you dig further. This is the first logo in the series that steps out of the traditional soccer crest style and instead uses a G at the center surrounded by C for Granite City.

Black and white is a striking kit combination that has done well globally time and time again (see Juventus, Newcastle United and Besiktas for some picture-perfect examples). For Granite City I wanted to keep it simple while still maintaining the levels shown on the crest. Thus, the gradient used for Granite City’s jerseys bring a unique look to the classic black-and-white color scheme.

Special thanks to Russell Varner for his help editing.

About me
First and foremost I am an amateur with no formal training. My hope is that this series will spark other creatives to make their own versions. Learn more about the series here. I was born and raised in Middlesex, North Carolina and have spent most of my adult life living in Raleigh. I am a fan of the beautiful game who wants to see it grow at the grassroots level.

--

--