Lazers SC

Garner, NC

Zac Hines
TriSocPod
2 min readDec 3, 2020

--

Lazers Soccer Club has been around in some form since 2000, but their current incarnation started with their youth program being officially established in 2016. In 2018, Lazers launched a senior team by joining UPSL. The team itself is based out of Garner and calls Wake Christian Academy its home.

The first thing I wanted to address with this rebrand was that while I have nothing against the name, it isn’t clear what it means or is connected to. With the new logo, I replaced the ball with an exploding beam, giving it a sense of action. The beam lines up with the bright orange stripes to imply that there are several beams being fired.

Lazer SC’s Current Logo

I reduced the overall size of the container and brought the text inside. I thought the font and stripes were good elements from the original crest and decided to keep them to help keep consistency between the logos.

I originally thought about doing a starburst effect for the Lazers home kit, but instead landed on bringing over pastel vertical stripes of the logo. The orange would be paired with the stark contrast of black shorts, socks, and highlights.

Special thanks to Russell Varner for his help editing.

About me
First and foremost I am an amateur with no formal training. My hope is that this series will spark other creatives to make their own versions. Learn more about the series here. I was born and raised in Middlesex, North Carolina and have spent most of my adult life living in Raleigh. I am a fan of the beautiful game who wants to see it grow at the grassroots level.

--

--