Morehead Lookouts

Morehead, NC

Zac Hines
TriSocPod
2 min readAug 9, 2020

--

Cape Lookout Lighthouse is iconic for its diamond pattern and was the clear source of inspiration for this club. In a final professional version of this logo, I would align the shape of the lighthouse to closer resemble the actual shape, but for the purposes of this project it works. I knew the diamond pattern would be a big part of this club and it only seemed natural to enclose the lighthouse in a diamond. The text box on the bottom looked cleaner than a banner and gave the crest a good shape. For a splash of color, I added a yellow to the windows, which gives it a sense of action.

Big Rock Stadium and Rotary Park

I have two options for a home location. The first is Big Rock Stadium, home of the Morehead City Marlins. This is a professional baseball stadium that could convert into a soccer field. As always, the bonuses here are: make it a multi-use stadium and builds upon existing infrastructure. The cons: it is a baseball field and the sight-lines are trash. The option for the purists is just across the street a Rotary Park. This park has a field that is the correct size, but none of the infrastructure like lighting.

Clearly the first and best choice for a kit design is to have the shirt carry forward the diamond pattern from the lighthouse. I added some yellow highlights to separate it from the other black and white kits in this series.

Special thanks to Russell Varner for his help editing.

About me
First and foremost I am an amateur with no formal training. My hope is that this series will spark other creatives to make their own versions. Learn more about the series here. I was born and raised in Middlesex, North Carolina and have spent most of my adult life living in Raleigh. I am a fan of the beautiful game who wants to see it grow at the grassroots level.

--

--