Mountain Royals FC

Kings Mountain, NC

Zac Hines
TriSocPod
2 min readNov 26, 2020

--

Mountain Royals FC hails from the good town of Kings Mountain, North Carolina. While unfortunately not having many soccer fields within the town limits, it does boast a nice stadium built for American football at the local high school. The stands sit pretty far back from the action, but there would be little upgrades needed to have the John Gamble Stadium ready for soccer.

While their name will be Mountain Royals, I shortened it to Royals for the crest because the lettering was taking up too much space. Also, the mountain counts as the word mountain…right? Right. My project, my rules.

John Gamble Stadium; Kings Mountain High School

Back on topic. I thought it was important to use gold in the scheme to keep it tied with the town name. Green as the other main color comes from the mountain being covered in trees. Nothing is really too deep here.

To keep with the royal motif, I gave the mockup kit a shirt design that mimics the padded armor from the medieval times. Carrying that forward my use of the grey was an attempt at a nod to metal armor.

Special thanks to Russell Varner for his help editing.

About me
First and foremost I am an amateur with no formal training. My hope is that this series will spark other creatives to make their own versions. Learn more about the series here. I was born and raised in Middlesex, North Carolina and have spent most of my adult life living in Raleigh. I am a fan of the beautiful game who wants to see it grow at the grassroots level.

--

--