South Iredell Speed

Mooresville, NC

Zac Hines
TriSocPod
3 min readNov 13, 2020

--

The name South Iredell Speed comes from the original name of the organization that is now known as Independence North. They have also been called the Iredell Rowdies and Lake Norman SC. I was informed of this name by a friend with ties to the area and decided to bring it back as it ties nicely with Mooresville’s nickname “Race City USA.”

I wanted to step away from the container approach to soccer logos with this club and use line work to mimic motion, implying speed. I started with the gold/off-white color combination and was happy with the results until I realized that the colors wouldn’t show up in certain situations. The chocolate brown gives a nice depth to the trio of colors and I think replaces the off-white well when needed a dark color.

Left: Moor Field Baseball Park; Right: MHS Magnolia Campus

I have two options for a home venue: Moor Field Baseball Park and MHS Magnolia Campus. In an ideal soccer-first world the Moor Field Baseball Park would actually be a soccer pitch. Moor Field doesn’t have a lot of glitz and glamour but would be a good spot for a lower league team. The Magnolia Campus fields on the other hand has a stadium, currently set up for American football, with lighting and stands. The only downside here is playing on those lines and the inability to sell alcohol at games.

The sash strikes again! This time the sash sits lower on the kit because further up the chest it begins to interfere with the crest. I used chocolate brown as the base color for the mock-up assuming that the away kit would have the brown version of the logo on an off-white kit.

Special thanks to Russell Varner for his help editing.

About me
First and foremost I am an amateur with no formal training. My hope is that this series will spark other creatives to make their own versions. Learn more about the series here. I was born and raised in Middlesex, North Carolina and have spent most of my adult life living in Raleigh. I am a fan of the beautiful game who wants to see it grow at the grassroots level.

--

--